@jst68 the clear on exit or clear options are definitely what you want. Those may require you to quit and relaunch before they take effect, but the omnibox is pulling those entries from History
Selecting the entry in the auto-complete list (using up and down arrow keys) and pressing Shift + Delete will delete the selected entry… unless you have it bookmarked. Bookmarks always show in auto-complete results (you need to un-bookmark them for them to not show).
If you wanted to view the raw files themselves, you can find them in your profile directory.
Once in those directories, find your
Default profile directory (unless you’ve created additional user profiles; if so, go into that user profile directory). Once in there, you’ll find some files of interest:
History - history that is shown on brave://history/ and used for auto-complete, as you’ve noticed. You can also delete the other files (
History Provider Cache,
Top Sites - the sites that show on new tab page. You can delete both
Top Sites and
Shortcuts - this seems to store searches done using search engine shortcuts. ex: if you do
:g and hit space, then type a search term and hit enter. You can also delete the
The main database file for each of these is sqlite and you can download a command line client and open it up yourself. You should definitely be able to avoid this and use
brave://settings/clearBrowserData to clear your data (make sure to pick
I verified multiple times (just to make sure) while writing this post that all of those files mentioned above are cleared. The DB file will still exist, but with 0 entries. After clearing, you can quit to make sure (since the sqlite DB may be cached in memory by Chromium).
If you have bookmarks, it’s possible that they will show on history, even after clearing (because a call may be made to fetch the favicon). Bookmarks will also show as auto-complete results in the omnibox