Brave has become so SLOOOOOOW :(

1. At home on my primary desktop PC I’ve been using brave for a couple of years having abandoned Chrome due privacy. I’ve been very happy until recent times… maybe 2 or 3 months when brave has become very slow and often times-out on most websites I use and I have to hit the refresh button to re-establish.

2. I also have Firefox, Opera and Chrome (when desperate) and all of these browsers are very fast, so my issue is restricted to brave.

3. I have been travelling for 2 months using my laptop and experienced the identical slowness issue, so much so that I made Firefox my preferred browser.

4. I’m back home now and the problem persists with both my desktop machine and my laptop,

5. I have checked brave extensions and minimised them.

6. I am using the most recent version of brave on both machines.

@TRB,
Thank you for reaching out to us.
Can you try closing all Brave windows, then opening a Private window and tell me if you get the same behavior in the private window?

I’m experiencing that same issue, started this week. “linkedin.com” is the worse site, barely loads at all and becomes unresponsive. I turned off all extensions but did not help. I have no issues when using Vivaldi, Chrome, or Edge. I’ve had to switch my default browser to Vivaldi. I do not experience the issue when using a Brave private window.
Update: I sometime get this error code.
Error code: RESULT_CODE_HUNG

@jemala125,
This issue may be resolved in Brave by clearing you cache/browsing data (Menu --> History --> Clear browsing data)

:unamused: I figured that was going to be the answer but was holding out hope for something better. Clearing out the browsing data can be somewhat disruptive at times.

Thanks for your help :slight_smile:

Sorry for tardiness… been otherwise engaged. Also I’m in Australia so we probably have a time difference.

I tested a Private window as you suggested and it appeared to help, however my brave issue is not always apparent.