Using 4 profiles. When I close them and reopen everything reverts to the starting point

Each profile is for a different purpose. Tried setting them up several times. When I close the profile page and reopen, the only thing left is the profile name and icon. All bookmarks are gone and setting reverted to default.

I used Firefox windows in a similar way but all windows reopened the next day just as I left them. I was hoping, since Brave profiles opened separately, they would be easier to work with. Far as I know Firefox is the only browser that will reopen all windows when restarted.

I’m hoping I just don’t know how to use Brave. Is this the way the profile windows are supposed to act? I’m not very techie so please let me know if I’m doing something wrong.