How to avoid tracker & fingerprinting preferences resetting to "standard" when browsing data is cleared?

In the Preference settings for SHIELDS, I want to set “Trackers & ads blocking” and “Block fingerprinting” (referred to as the Privacy Settings) at the most aggressive settings, i.e. “Aggressive” and “Strict, may break sites” respectively.

The problem is, after entering in the desired settings, each time I regularly “Clear Browsing Data”, it resets the said Privacy Settings back to “Standard”.

In an attempt to avoid the Privacy Settings being reset to standard when the cache is cleared - I went to the settings for “Clear Browsing Data”, and I un-ticked “Site and Shield Settings”. But that does not prevent the Privacy Settings being reset to standard when the browsing data is cleared.

I also ensured that this “Site and shields settings” was un-ticked on the “On Exit” settings.

Please advise how I can avoid the said Privacy Settings being reset to standard each time that the browsing data is cleared?

Operating System and Brave Version(See the About Brave page in the main menu):

macOS version of Brave, has been an ongoing issue for many months across all the latest versions.

I had the same problem and played around it few months back and later on solved it.

As I remember it, Unticking ‘Site and Shields settings’ should solve the problem. But, it is not happening with you.

So, can you try unticking ‘cookies and other site data’ and see if the shiled settings are preserved.

if it still does not work, then can you try and create a new profile. untick site and shields settings and see if it works on the new profile.

Thanks, but I do not see that as a solution to the problem.

Yes, on one hand, unticking “cookies and other site data” does avoid the Privacy Settings being defaulted to standard – but that defeats the aim of getting rid of third-party cookies that are a privacy problem in the first place.

p/s

I followed your tip - of creating a 2nd profile - and, there, in the “clear browsing data” preferences - unticking the “site and shield settings”.

That results in my desired aim of preserving the Privacy Settings upon clearing the browsing data.

But it has to be a bug, because no user - unless told - would to the lengths of having to create a second profile to achieve that aim.

NOTE TO BRAVE DEVELOPERS: Can you fix this bug?