Using Windows 11 Pro and Brave version 1.46.134 Chromium: 108.0.5359.94 (Official Build) (64-bit)
With the Brave browser open, if you right-click on the taskbar icon ‘Recently Closed’ sites are shown i.e. history. Even if the browser is then closed (when all history is set to be deleted) and then re-opened, the ‘Recently Closed’ sites are still shown indicating that the history is being retained and retrieved from somewhere.
It’s not a concern to me but if you truly need your browsing history to be private this is one to be aware of.
Hello @Skier, thank you for letting us know about this. This is something regarding to the windows jump lists you can disable it by reading this article:
Hope it helps. Regards.
I appreciate the reply, but the proposed solution turns off ALL recent history across Windows e.g. Start Menu, File Explorer. This information is useful, and I wish to keep it available.
Brave touts itself as ‘The best privacy online.’ and ‘Browse privately. Search privately. And ditch Big Tech.’ I appreciate that Windows is storing the history data in the recently closed area of the taskbar icon’s right-click context menu but, in my opinion, this information should not be made available.
This topic was automatically closed 60 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.