Brave didn't shut down correctly

Every single time I open Brave it closes saying “Brave didn’t shut down correctly”, I’ve searched everywhere for solutions, I tried going to properties and writing --disable-gpu, also turned off hardware accelerating, and removed all extensions. I don’t have an antivirus nor a VPN. I also saw a thread on brave community with a solution and tried it but nothing (this one Brave Browser keeps crashing [solved]).

I hope someone can help me with this.

PD: I’ve been using Brave for 2 years and suddenly it constantly crashes.

1 Like

@fer3 ,

Notice that you write “every single time that [you] open Brave” Browser . . .

“it closes” . . .

without conveying the time interval.

Are you trying to write, that the browser immediately crashes after starting?

1 Like

Hi

@fer3

Try these:

First Click Ctrl + H to see if still have history. If working go to brave://settings/system and enable background.

If not working in the future

• Go to C:\Users\your device name\AppData\Local\BraveSoftware\Brave-Browser\User Data\Default (this is correct for 64bit for, 32bit?)
  • Open the file preferences using bloc note.
  • Use CTRL+F to look for exit_type and change crashed to normal.
  • Save by Clicking CTRL+S.
  • Open Brave

Yes that was my intention, sorry if my english isn’t good

@fer3 ,

You are OK. I just dropped by, in order to help you get that (your actual intent) clear. Thanks for the quick response.

So there was no history, because I reinstalled it before, and the scan said that there were no violations, I’m guessing that’s good.

I’m using windows 10.

I’ve noticed that this crash started when I installed uTorrent (web and classic), when Brave asked for permission to install the uTorrent extension it crashed, although that stopped. I uninstalled uTorrent (both) among all its files, but the problem persists.