From month to month, Brave Browser rewards dropped from 0.025 per ad to 0.003 per ad. Basically if I used to collect about 7-8 bats a month, now I barely get to 1. And the price, after the climb, dropped again but the rewards remained miserable the same.
The ads prices are always changing.
I think they’ll find that these changes are draconian, disproportionate and will likely fall well short of anything anyone ever received in the past. Across 8 devices we usually earn between 30-55 BAT p/m in my household. At this rate we’ll be lucky if we earn 2 BAT across all devices this month with only 0.2 on each device today when usually we would have gathered at least 5-10.
Although many of us will stick with Brave for speed and privacy concerns, there are many more who are only here for the rewards. Half of them (like you) can no longer earn them because of region issues, and unless the price of BAT goes up to above $2 again, the rest aren’t going to hang around for a couple of BAT p/m. Perhaps a bare minimum could be set for advertisers by pointing out to them if they provide no incentive, most won’t even bother to interact with their ads any more?
Although I realise some are necessary I’m not a fan of all these sweeping changes. They seem to be more focused on driving patrons away from Brave rather than drawing them in right now.
Honestly, I find this sudden price change and it makes the ads decidedly unattractive, given the low income they give. All right, the Brave browser has advantages, but for sure this move will alienate those who used it for the rewards, which are now almost nil…
at today’s prices 0.001053065 USD for every two ads - how can this even be considered an incentive I don’t know!
0,4 bat in a half month…0,002-0,003 bat every banner…and the price go down…
I hear you, same here - 0.4 on main browser, the rest which I use less are all 0.1 and 0.2. V. disappointing. We usually gather at least 3-5 on the least used browsers and more on the main one. It’seems that all ads regardless of whether they are Brave or third party, are paying 0.005 for every two ads (0.003 for the first and 0.002 for the next).
Well well. I am just gonna be a jerk and brag about me earning 2.7 BATs on my main device and around 1.7 on my PC lol. Sorry guys
That’s what my Cayman earnings used to be like before I switched to UK to fix region issues. But I always feel so bad for you because you can’t get yours!
Ahh. I know right. But like I do have devices connected to Gemini so not like I don’t earn at all, but yea it’s an inconvenience!
Who-hoo 0.5 on the main browser bring out the trumpets! Other than that, an unhappy household here with only just over 1 BAT accumulated across all 8 devices!
@Thrive Yeah, this month is seeming pretty low compared to usual. For quite a while I’ve been earning at least $5 each month. Currently seems I’m sitting at about $1 for BAT.
Let me ask, are there a lot of eligible campaigns in your area that would be targeting your OS and all? Would be listed on that link I’ve provided before, which is https://sampson.codes/brave/ads/my_region/
I just checked mine and there’s only about 12 campaigns, but majority of them I would be at the limit for. As an example:
Shows on top left that campaign started on January 20, 2023 and ends on March 31, 2023. You’d think that’s good. But looking at the view limits, maximum of 2 per day and a TOTAL of 8 times. So once hit that 8, wouldn’t be able to see that one again. You know would likely hit that in the first week of it being out.
Or one below, which started in December and ends in march, but maximum amount of times you can see and get paid for it is 3x a day, total of 30 times. Then after the 30th, you’re SOL.
So yeah, campaigns are kind of low right now. I know Brave is aware of it and it’s part of where they are claiming to try to push for Self Serve in a hurry. Though based on what was said last week, their “hurry” on that still might be a little ways off. Everything seems to be 3-6 months from now, give or take a couple months.
All 8 devices here are Windows and Android. I was in England February when you might recall there were only 2 ads running there at the time.
Personal viewpoint is that third party ads (not Brave) should pay a minimum amount of no less than 0.010 BAT if they want to be rewarded with our attention. Right now its debatable whether its worth keeping ads turned on.
I’m going to slightly disagree with you on that. Rather than it being a guaranteed amount of BAT, I think it should be a minimum based on fiat. So if BAT value increases, we get less BAT. But when BAT value decreases, as it has over the past year or so, they should be increasing the amount of BAT paid.
I think what does hurt us though is none of us know how much advertisers are paying. We’re all assuming Brave is doing as they mentioned, which is giving us 70% of ad revenue. But there are questions where I should push and try to get more info, though I doubt Brave would share it with us.
Agree 100% on the 70% revenue point.
Only question we have is if we’re getting that. I think a lot of people haven’t really ever sat down to research how much businesses pay to have ads displayed. And when we do, often we look at the wrong places. For example, I saw the information below which has a wide range. But some of the “higher paying” ads are those that force you to watch. Where Brave Ads a lot of times are closer to banner ads, which is the cheaper. I’ll list some ideas below:
Higher Cost Example (catch here is they kind of refer to video ads)
I do know if we look at websites like https://dashthis.com/kpi-examples/cost-per-view-cpv/ they say:
A good average cost per view goes anywhere between 3 cents to 30 cents per view, of course, it all depends on the industry, the campaigns, the type of video ad you have, etc.
Middle Cost Example (again, video one)
Then we check other site, like https://influencermarketinghub.com/how-much-do-youtube-ads-cost/ and they say:
- YouTube ads have an average cost-per-view of $0.010 – $0.030, and the views that you generate will count towards your overall YouTube viewer count.
Low Cost Example: (Banner ads)
Then to look at other avenues, such as ad banners on websites, we can see things like https://www.digitalinformationworld.com/2017/05/how-much-do-banner-ads-cost.html which say:
Rates can go as low as 50 cents per one thousand impressions (CPM). This means that for 50 cents, your banner ad can be displayed 1,000 times.
Math using lower cost banner ads:
= $0.50 for 1000 views
$0.50 divided by 1,000 = $0.0005 per ad.
This would be the equivalent of 0.0020 BAT, according to Google as I’m writing this.
70% of 0.0020 = 0.0014 that would be paid to us per ad.
Those numbers actually start to match and might be what Brave is doing. Actually might be charging just a bit more than that.
Math using your screenshot:
I mean, we’d reverse engineer to a point. Like you see that the screenshot you shared says 0.0025 BAT per ad.
0.0025 divided by 0.7 = 0.003571 which I don’t know where we want to round to. But let’s say 0.00357 BAT. Would mean they are charging $0.00088 per ad. It’s not 100% accurate due to rounding, but kind of gets us close enough.
If the one website was correct, then $0.00088 sounds better than $0.0005. They’d be charging $0.88 per 1,000 views rather than others which might charge $0.50 per 1,000.
I will say the banner ad one is from 2017. I’d need to dig deeper to find values for 2023. But it was a quick glimpse. It does show that there’s a possibility that what they are charging and we’re getting paid might be close to the industry standard. The only way it gets paid more is if they start adding more ways for engagement and attention, such as making us watch videos, charging/paying for clicking on ads, etc.
Maybe one day someone will crunch numbers a bit more. Or, who knows, maybe we can see if @tmancey and @chriscat might be able to help shed the light on numbers a bit more.
a lot of people haven’t really ever sat down to research how much businesses pay to have ads displayed.
I researched this for a Cayman client who was interested a year or two ago. I think based on the info available at that time we estimated her ad would cost over $2,500. It exceeded her limit so we took it no further.
I’ve looked again and it seems that Brave rates are now $20 CPM?
Yeah, but if so, that’s another problem. According to sites like https://www.investopedia.com/terms/c/cpm.asp
Cost per thousand (CPM ), also called cost per mille, is a marketing term used to denote the price of 1,000 advertisement impressions
- So if $20 for 1,000 views, that would be $0.02 per ad.
- 70% of $0.02 = $0.014
- $0.14 = 0.058 BAT
So if that pricing is right, we should be getting closer to the 0.5 or 0.6 BAT per ad.
For us to be getting 0.0025, we’d not even be getting 1% of what we are promised. Well, I guess would have to look at it as:
- 0.0025 divided by 0.5 = 0.005 = 0.5%.
If we take $0.02 into BAT, that’s currently 0.082 BAT.
0.0025 divided by 0.082 = 0.0304878048780488 = round to about 0.03 = 3%.
This would mean Brave is only paying us 3% of what they are charging for the ad, rather than the 70% we’ve been said to get.
I have about the same 1.22 but had 347 ads. seems much lower for me. not consistent per user?
@Thrive Actually, just caught something. The link you gave was for Brave News ads. But I went ahead and looked for Push Notifications. It showed like they are charging the same there, except one interesting tidbit. They showed as if they are charging $0.20 CPC (cost per click). This means they are also charging for each click but not paying that to us either.
I pulled that from https://brave.com/brave-ads/ad-formats/#push-notifications
So yes, we definitely have a lot of questions to have answered. Again, big issue of where I say they really need to improve on transparency.
I’ll tag @steeven, @chriscat, and @tmancey again just to see if they might be able to swing by and answer. Or maybe I’ll see if we can’t get them to write something officially.