One-click extension installation without Chrome web store

Hey, I’m a bit of a programmer, and I’ve been developing systems that try to make it easier to maintain privacy and allow for free communication. Right now, Brave depends on the Chrome web store to offer extensions to users, which feels a bit over-centralized.

Installing extensions without the web store is possible via using developer mode and setting the files up manually, but things would be a lot easier if there were a way to offer an extension install just by clicking a button, as we see in the Chrome store, on any website.

It’s very important that all extensions come from a reliable source that checks every extension is doing what it was design for.

Installing extensions from other websites would be a risk as any extension could contain malicious software.

So, no, I don’t think Brave should allow it.

That doesn’t track - you can download and run a .exe file whenever you’d like, and anyone can navigate to a website that already has countless fake download buttons. It’s not something that can be protected against, especially if doing so requires trusting Google to control which extensions can and can’t be installed.

The median Brave user is technologically competent enough that allowing him to download things - especially after a text warning about only downloading extensions you trust - should be more than sufficient. The core function of brave is being a pro-privacy, pro-decentralization fork of Chrome, and we shouldn’t sacrifice that in favor of trying to prevent users who want to download something from downloading it.

1 Like

I completely disagree with your view. Yes, I understand you want to share your extensions without going through the Google filter. But that’s not the way in my opinion. If you are a serious programmer then it is on your best interest to give your customers a proof that your extensions have been audited.