I can't download BRAVE!

I CAN’T DOWNLOAD BRAVE

Yesterday brave didn’t want to open for me in my desktop computer so I regretively uninstalled it, losing my BAT, but now I can’t even re-install it.

I went to the official page, download the .exe file and then when inslalling it produces an error in the connection, where there is not. I literally intalled chrome to test it and it was fine.

I don’t know what to do, I Have been using brave for 2-3 years I don’t use anything else, and I really need it.

1 Like

I think one of the problems might be residual brave files somewhere in the computer like in the registry that needs to be deleted. I could have sworn I found a post by @Mattches detailing this but I cannot find it. You might need to try a uninstall program that deep deletes remaining files like revo uninstall or something. Have you tried looking at Youtube videos on how to completely uninstall brave?

1 Like

why this happeneing…no other browsers do that

1 Like

I tried that, by hand and by another program to delete residual info but it didn’t work either :confused:

1 Like

It goes beyond me really :woman_shrugging:t2:

2 Likes

:rofl: dont know whats happening these days

2 Likes

Thanks for the comments, I’ve reported it to our devs. As a temp option, Follow the directions here: @tux51512 @HighPriestess42 @anujkmr953

https://community.brave.com/t/i-cant-download-the-browser/285569/3

3 Likes

I have the same problem on my laptop with Windows 8.1.
But on another computer with Windows 10 brave installed without problems.

3 Likes

me too…problem in windows 8.1.hoping for a fix from brave.lets see

1 Like

We’re actively investigating the issue, thanks for your patience

Quick question - what version of Windows are folks here using? It seems this might be related to the cipher suites available for SSL/TLS when trying to download. I suspect this affects Windows 7 and Windows 8 (8.1) users.