Every time I open Brave Browser with my main profile, it recreates a "Profile 1" user

Description of the issue:
Every time I open Brave Browser with my main profile, it recreates a “Profile 1” user

How can this issue be reproduced?

  1. Open Brave Browser (selecting “Main Profile” the profile I personally use).
  2. Check users at the top right
  3. Brave has recreated a “Profile 1” user that was previously deleted during last computer use.
  4. Delete Profile 1.
  5. Close Brave Browser.
  6. Restart computer or turn off all the way.
  7. Turn computer back on and sign in.
  8. Re-open Brave Browser (main profile)
  9. Profile 1 will be recreated (this is unwanted).

Expected result: For Brave to not keep recreating “Profile 1”

Brave Version( check About Brave):
Version 1.25.70 Chromium: 91.0.4472.77 (Official Build) (64-bit)

Additional Information:

1 Like

You could try to manually delete profile’s directory, it’s located at \AppData\Local\BraveSoftware\Brave-Browser\User Data

You’ll most likely find multiple Profile X folders there, where X is some number.

IMPORTANT: To find out which Profile folder you have to delete, make sure the icons of your user profiles are different. You’ll find an .ico file named Google Profile inside those Profile X folders, it represents that profile’s user icon. Delete the Profile X folder which contains the profile icon (the .ico file) of the unwanted profile!