Description of the issue:
When using the settings to clear various browsing data when Brave is exited, system shutdowns and task manager closures of the browser do not count as “exiting”, therefore the data is still present when launched once again.
How can this issue be reproduced?
- Set browser to clear data upon exit
- Open Brave and use as intended (login to sites, browse etc.)
- When Brave is closed by Task Manager or system shut-off, browser data, login info, and other to-be-deleted info remains stored in browser.
Note that the data IS removed when Brave is shut down in a normal fashion.
Login info, history, cookies and such SHOULD be removed when exiting Brave in ANY fashion, not just using the ‘X’ button.
Brave Version( check
Brave 1.43.93, Chromium 105.0.5195.257
This issue poses a minor security risk to users, and is a mild annoyance to those who want all browser data cleared upon system shutoff. If Brave cannot delete this data in all cases of browser shutoff, that fact should be disclosed when using the setting in the first place.