Brave does not show any notifications on Arch Linux

Hello. I’m a newbie around here, so I may have butchered where to post this. I apologize due to my lack of understanding of all forums in Brave community.

I’m an Arch Linux user, and I use GNOME desktop environment on it. I made my research and experimented on my system before writing this on Brave Community. Here is my problem: Brave does not show any notifications. Thus, I can neither make use of Brave Rewards, nor can I get notifications when one of my colleges send a message to me.

Here are conclusions I got from playing around with things.
1- GNOME notifications work fine since it has reminded the birthday of my friend yesterday. It was only a calendar notification, so I’ve installed some flatpaks from GNOME Software. I was able to get a “Installation complete” notification. So, there is something wrong with Brave itself.

2-I’ve installed Brave via brave-bin package from AUR:

This package was recommended in your installation guide:

Reproducibility of this issue is %100. I’ve enabled “Use Google Services for Push Messaging” button as well.

My Brave version is “Version 1.16.72 Chromium: 86.0.4240.183 (Official Build) unknown (64-bit)”

Hello @eronis

let me ask one of the team to help you @fmarier

please notice it still weekend

and have a nice day both of you

I would like to correct myself. Yesterday, Brave has sent notification of this post getting replied. My problem is that I do not see any Brave Rewards ads at all. When I was running Windows 10 on this machine, Brave ads were showing up. Your Linux port seems to have a problem with Brave Rewards.

thanks for the update

check this

and have a nice day

We have an issue open around notifications in the unofficial Arch package:

The first thing I would try is to install the libnotify package as mentioned by a user in the above issue.

Another thing would be to play with the brave://flags/#enable-native-notifications flag to see if it has any effect.