Gmail as of Aug 13 will not open in Standard mode, it forces HTML mode only on Brave Browser, please help!

I’ve been using brave for almost 2 years and never had this issue till today, when I tried logging into my Gmail account as usual, and it would not load normally, saying that it needs to load in the HTML version, as opposed to the standard version it should load in.
Here is the message that now shows up at the top left of my Gmail window while using the Brave browser:

“You have been redirected to the basic HTML version because this browser is not supported. To use standard view please upgrade to a [supported browser]”

I thought maybe there is an issue with Gmail so I opened it up in Chrome to check, but no issue there, it opens normally in standard mode no problem. The issue seems to be with Brave for some reason.

I tried taking the Shields down in Brave for Gmail, as well as clear cache and cookies completely, and still the issue persists. I have the latest version of Brave.

Can you please help with this? I want to be able to use my Brave browser as I normally had in the past with my Gmail, as I do not want to have to use Chrome!

**Brave Version
Version 1.28.105 Chromium: 92.0.4515.131 (Official Build) (64-bit)

1 Like

I’m surprised to see yet another thread regarding Gmail, although it works all right here on my end.

Could you please check whether Gmail works normally when opened in a private window? Just make sure you don’t have any third-party extensions allowed in private window.

I have opened Gmail in Chrome and it works as intended.
I’ve opened it in Edge also and it works.

It just seems to have a problem with Brave for some unknown reason, and it will not load normally anymore, only in Basic HTML mode.

Is that what you are referring to by opening in a private window? A different browser?

Open Brave → click on the hamburger menu at the top-right corner → New Private window → open Gmail.

Aaa okay thanks for clarifying :slight_smile: