[Feature Req] Right-click Context Menu Tab Renaming

Hello, I wanted to submit a feature request for the capability to rename tabs using the right-click context menu on the target tab.

Use case:
I am a college student and in most of my courses, we have assigned readings that go with a particular assignment. I like to open up the readings and assign them to a Group (labeled “CLASS_NAME”). Unfortunately, the assigned readings are often PDF documents which do not have a set name, so I end up with 4-5 tabs named something obscure like “aws-1asd8asdn” or “1024889.” I’d like to be able to rename these tabs via right-click context menu option to something more descriptive.

Currently, my workaround is I have to open the developer console and manually modify or inject a <title></title> tag for each tab in my tab group to change the appearance from:
<CLASS_NAME>
<120341892>
<120381287>
<12038999>

To something like this:
<CLASS_NAME>
<Alkanes and Alkane Isomers>
<Enantiomers and the Tetrahedral Carbon>
<Meso Compounds>

I am sure there are far more use cases, but this is a case I find myself using pretty much everyday. I have actually contemplated writing a small Javascript extension for personal use which would display a prompt() or inject custom DOM elements to accept userinput from to pass to a <title> block, but I’ve just been too busy to lately.

e: Added escapes for <> blocks.

@lukeymoo,
While this exact feature isn’t available at this time, you can group those tabs together and name the tab group. And while not quite as clean, you could even open a tab “group” with only one tab in each and use the group name.

1 Like

Thanks for suggestion, I hadn’t thought to use a group for each tab. I’ll probably use this method in interim until I get around to writing a personal helper script.

1 Like

You can do this with a bookmarklet.

• Open Bookmark Manager (Ctrl+Shift+O)
  • Right-click in the right hand panel and select “Add new bookmark”