Can't find element to block on youtube

Hello,

I’ve been trying to solve this, but I’m not good at reading HTML and have just been blindly poking at things.

I’m trying to use the element blocker to stop channel trailers from appearing; everything I’ve tried either breaks the site or does nothing.

Win10 Home
Version 1.44.108 Chromium: 106.0.5249.103 (Official Build) (64-bit)

Thanks for your time

Hi

Try updating Brave to latest version; Open brave://settings/help, click on the version, download the setup file, then install.

Instead of ‘block element’, try ‘manage custom filters’ for your region.

“Channel trailer”, like the video that plays when go to some channels?
Because cosmetics will only hide the video, they won’t block it, and then the audio would still play in the background if the video autoplays.
Cosmetics only inject a css property “display: none !important” to the element.
I used youtube.com##ytd-channel-video-player-renderer.style-scope which hides what I think is what you mean channel trailers, but since I am not signed in or anything, I don’t know if it breaks anything, and the video still plays unless I set youtube to block the autoplay and then that means clicking every video.

But yeah, only Network filters block, but since they are youtube videos, you can’t block them that way either, you would need something that can modify things, like an extension or userscript, since they are able to inject any JS or stop things and all that.

But talking about Cosmetics and Element pickers, if you still wanted to use them, it is better if you use use DevTools anyway and manually make your Cosmetics because you can pick any attribute in the HTML element, which element pickers are not smart about.
And Brave can use any native css selector https://www.w3schools.com/cssref/css_selectors.asp

Not all the selectors work or are useful for an adblocker from the : ones, usually the ones p: are the ones that would make more sense to use.