YouTube crashes instantly upon trying to play a video

Hello, I am a new user to Brave and have been trying to use this in our school environment which uses Securly as a web filter. I am a technician and working with our network admin to try and fix the issue where when we try to play any video on YouTube.com, it crashes immediately or within the first few seconds of playing the video. Disabling the shield also did not make an impact on functionality. This is after an install with no changes made to any settings.

My question is what could be causing this to crash and if there are any specific addresses that we need to add into our filter to make it work properly. YouTube works just fine in any other browser at school and Brave works for me fine outside of school, so I know that there is something that needs to be allowed.

Local Crash ID e3ed9f98-0e85-4278-b801-15eecadaf76a

Brave is up to date
Version 0.59.34 Chromium: 72.0.3626.81 (Official Build) (64-bit)

Something similar is happening here, I can’t even play a video with 1,5 speed. Brave has been SO slow the past few days… It really sucks, I’m trying to keep using it, but sometimes I wonder why…

@dhalvorsen,
Thanks for reaching out to us. Lets see if we can figure out whats going on.
Questions:

• I see that you’ve tagged your post with Windows - are you using Windows 7 or 10 (or heaven forbid Win8/.1)?
  • Are you able to stream/watch video content on other websites or is it just Youtube that crashes?
    • If media players on other sites also cause the crash, which sites did you test?

Suggestion:

• This smells a lot like a Hardware Acceleration issue. Try to disable this feature and see if that resolves the issue (Settings --> Advanced --> System --> Hardware Acceleration)

Let me know what you find out.

Windows 10 ver 1809

I disabled hardware acceleration and it still doesn’t play.