Website login data being deleted after upgrading (now even just closing!) Brave


I opened a thread about this in November. At that time, Brave wasn’t retaining website login data after upgrading to a new version. I responded promptly to all Alice2095 requests but after my last reply on December 22, I never got any further feedback and the case was closed although my problem was never resolved.

Original problem: Website login data appears to be deleted after manually upgrading to new versions of Brave.
The problem is now worse in that login data is not even saved when simply closing the app.

Expected result:
Login data is retained between upgrades and closing/opening the app

Brave Version( check About Brave):
Version 1.47.171 Chromium: 109.0.5414.87 (Official Build) (arm64)

Additional Information:

I’m on a MacBook Pro with macOS 12.6.2. At the time of the original post, I was on 12.6.1

Alice asked me to confirm: that you’re not on a separate/different profile from your main profile somehow? Additionally, are you using any extensions at this time?

I’m not.

She then asked me: If you go to your user data folder (~/AppData/Local/BraveSoftware/Brave-browser/User data/Default ), do you see a Bookmarks file here?

I replied that I don’t see that folder and asked if that was a Mac or a Windows path. I’m on a Mac. I never got a reply and the topic was closed in January.

As it is now, Brave is virtually unusable for me. If I can’t resolve this issue, I’m going to have to change to a different browser – something I really don’t want to do.

p.s. I do use one plugin and that is 1Password

Hello @SteveH

this is for windows so it’s not apply to your case

go to brave://settings/clearBrowserData (paste it in the url then hit enter)then go to the on exit tab is there anything selected there?

go to brave://settings/cookies and make sure Clear cookies and site data when you close all windows is not activated

if the above does not help could you create new profile and use it for while and see if it behave as it should be or not

hope that help and have a nice day :slight_smile:

Hi and thanks for the quick response.

Nothing selected under clear on exit.

Clear cookies … on exit is not selected.

I’ve set up a new profile and I’ll see how I get on. Can I safely sync the new profile to Brave on my iPhone?

Thx
Steve

you welcome @SteveH

this new profile we will use it for test so do not sync it or install any extension at least for now

and for the sync do you select to sync the settings also or not in your old profile?

Hi,

I only use Sync to sync bookmarks and browser history.

Steve

thanks for the info @SteveH

i guess it most probably sync issue but let us see how the new profile do for now