Upgraded to 0.61.51 today, and it's smokin'

Thanks, you guys. I previously complained when switching from Muon to the new base, things just weren’t working right. Well today I upgraded to 0.61.51, and it is smooth, fast and much less of a memory hog! Just running iheart radio for an hour, the old Muon browser was occupying 1,973,660k of RAM. After upgrading and running iheart for an hour, new Brave only occupied 475,320k of RAM, a BIG difference and a breath of fresh air for my PC.

Thanks again.

4 Likes

Thank you for the kind words! Lots of fun features coming down the pipeline as well!

Hey, I am new to Brave. Unlike you, I use Mac and constantly get 1.5 GB RAM used (same as Chrome). Am I doing something wrong, I thought Brave will take less resources. (1.5GB when 1 blank tab open and nothing else). Thanks

1 Like

I am clueless when it comes to Mac…anyone else have any information for Vito?

I think that is the latest one (that what I currently have).

Brave is up to date

Version 0.61.51 Chromium: 73.0.3683.75 (Official Build) (64-bit)

Same Brave version in MacOS 10.14.3 (Mojave) takes about 323MB when you add all the helpers. Do you have extensions that might be blowing it up, @vmv_777? Even then, I have several extensions enabled in my Brave Dev Version 0.63.8 Chromium: 73.0.3683.75 (Official Build) dev (64-bit) and it takes around 660MB.

Reg. Brave:

Brave Dev:

1 Like

Oh, I do have around 22-24 extensions enabled, same ones as Chrome. Did not think about this one, but again, I thought will be still less RAM used as Chrome uses. Thanks for the reply.

That’s a lot of extensions. I have no idea how valid this comparison is because after poking around I am kind of lost as to what numbers to actually look at in Activity Monitor, and the numbers are fluctuating a lot, so this whole thing might have been pointless. Low blood sugar and bad sleep aren’t helping. So maybe just skip this post, and someone with stronger KungFu can address the memory comparison.