Transferring user profiles from Dev build to Release build

Hey everyone.

I’ve been using Brave Dev as my daily driver for several months now. I’m thinking I’d like to switch to using the slightly more stable Release build as my daily driver, but I can’t figure out how to move over my user profiles (bookmarks, logins, etc) from Dev to Release.

I make heavy use of the profiles feature (I have around 10 distinct user profiles with different logins / bookmarks / themes etc), and I already have different profiles for different things spread out across both builds (I know, it’s messy)

I remember seeing someone mention that you could go into the file hierarchy and copy a directory over from one to the other, but I’m not sure where I would go to do that, or which folders I would copy etc. (I’m on macOS by the way)

I’m hoping it’s as simple as something like:

Brave Dev
----User 1
----User 2

Brave Browser
----User 3
----User 4

Cut and paste User 1, User 2

Brave Dev

Brave Browser
----User 3
----User 4
----User 1
----User 2

But I’m bracing myself for something more complicated.

I’d appreciate any help!

cc @LaurenWags for better assistance on macOS.

1 Like

Hey @dacoja

I’d highly advise against moving a profile from Dev to Release. Reason being is that Dev/Nightly especially are getting constant changes. Sometimes this means database changes that Release doesn’t have and won’t work with. In other words, you risk destroying your profiles and corrupting your information. Also note, this might not manifest itself initially, meaning in an update or two when Release gets the version that is currently in Dev and tries to add new information but it already exists in your profile, things could go sideways. I really, really advise against moving profiles. You could export your bookmarks from each profile on Dev and import them into new profiles on Release, but that won’t work for logins.