The Future of Brave

Hi Everyone,
My name is Nakul. I was just referred to using Brave by my cousins, and I have to say I’m quite impressed so far with the vision and design philosophy behind this browser. In fact, that is why I am posting this.

I am a current graduate student in computer science and avid futurist, having devoured damn near every book on AI, technology, society etc, and I have been working with some futurists in the field (for example, Peter Diamandis), writing my own blogs and analyses for them. One of my friends and fellow futurist John Smart has written about a future form of technology, known as a Personal AI or Personal Sim, that I believe can be a future evolution of the Brave Browser. This is the idea I want to share with this community.

In a nutshell, the idea is that as our world digitizes more and more, we are modeling ourselves with data and creating “digital copies” of our interests, passions, and decision making, spread over countless different platforms and devices. Right now, this “digital self” is sold to advertisers without our consent, while we reap none of the benefit. Of course, this is the very problem that Brave is trying to solve.

However, if you evolve and project this trend further, some very interesting things may happen. Imagine if Brave began to have Siri-like conversational features, very much so like the in the movie Her. On top of that, imagine that Brave automatically trained specific, local machine models on your device, just by your conversations and usage. This “local model” can then do the ad-matching that drives Brave’s ecosystem. Furthermore, this model can automate token payments to sites that your model has deemed you like (with your consent of course).