Sync documentation leads to frustration

I’m fairly new to Brave, and need to sync my bookmarks. I was happy to see there is Sync available, so I wen to RTFM, and headed to https://support.brave.com/hc/en-us/articles/360021218111-How-do-I-set-up-Sync-

The issue is that although the doc mentioned running a command “brave-browser --enable-brave-sync”, it does not mention this has to be done every time you open brave. The doc makes it sound like a one-time command. It should mention that you must edit your launchers to always enable sync, and if you do not, next time you close Brave and re-open it with the standard launchers, sync will not be enabled.

The doc should make that point clear, and explain how to edit launchers for the supported platforms covered in that doc (Windows, MacOS and Linux).

Good documention mentions tripping points. Great documentation navigates users through them. This doc does neither.

Those instructions cover mac, ubuntu and windows operating systems.
Also, you should not have to edit the Sync flag in every time if you’re doing it correctly.
What operating system are you using?

I am using Ubuntu 16.04.5 LTS (xenial) running Unity, and mac running sierra. On both platforms I followed the doc, closing all instances of Brave, launching it with the --enable-brave-sync flag, verified that sync was now available in settings. On both platforms, after closing that instance and using the launcher again, the sync settings were no longer available because it was not explicitly launched with --enable-brave-sync when using the standard launcher.

I have not yet encountered this. I was able to set the flag once and leave it alone. Sync has been enabled since. Can I see the shortcut path you edited with the flag?