Questions from new user, privacy vs advertising

privacy
tor

I am new to Brave and have a few questions.

1. There seems to be somewhat of a conflict with Brave. On one hand, there is a lot of mention of privacy and the new Tor private window (I understand that is beta), while on the other side there is a fairly large focus on advertising/rewards/contributor/etc. Most of us can recall that most great internet services and products were destroyed as it relates to privacy due to the introduction of advertising revenues. I can see the approach as I understand it is different here, but i question the ability to maintain a best-in-class privacy centered browser while incorporating the commercial side.

2. There is an inherent concern using derivatives of browsers. Others in this class with Brave include Pale Moon, Vivaldi and Opera to make my statement clear. One of those concerns that makes a lot of sense to me is a comparison of resources. While the larger names such as Chrome and Firefox have large groups of contributors, the derivatives have smaller groups while relying on the larger for their core. As a Linux user, I see very often issues with delays on updates to distro repositories, noting that security updates do have a higher level of urgency. How does the Brave team handle Chromium updates on a regular basis, and how are more urgent security updates handled, if differently? Such as … are updates able to simply pass through to Brave without team intervention (aside from testing) or do updates need incorporating to the Brave derivative?