Question about whitelisting a website

I want to disable shields and adblocking on a website because they’re good people and I want them to generate revenue. However, I don’t want to see the ads, lol.

If I right click and choose “Brave>Block element” and remove it will they still get credit for having served the ad to me?

I was wondering because it still technically got to my browser but it’s just hiding.

Is this a dumb question? If so I’m sorry.

I’m going to start off to say I’m not 100% sure, as I’m not that technical. However, blocking element actually creates a custom filter. It basically works in much the same way as just adblocking does. Hiding is the same as blocking, you’re refusing to let it load/show. However, since I’m no expert, take that with a grain of sale.

Now, what I can say with 100% certainty is that what you’re describing is exactly the purpose of Brave Rewards. We opt into Rewards so we can earn. Then we are supposed to use those earnings to help support the Creators we do like, by tipping them. So if you do want them to generate revenue and think they are good people, I’d encourage them to become Creators and then send tips their way! (assuming you and they are in supported regions, lol)

1 Like

Oh yeah that makes sense. Where can I send them to check it out?

To sign up as a Creator, you can go to https://creators.brave.com/sign-up

Also specific details if they need more info would be:

1 Like

Thanks so much. I sent them the info. I certainly hope they take a serious look at it.

One thing though (and this is probably a separate topic) but I’ve never had the Tip button icon show up anywhere. I accumulate BAT and have never had the opportunity to tip anyone.

Will they need to have that tip icon button if I want to tip them? Or are there other ways to send it to them?

These are all dumb questions, I’m sure. But thank you for the help.