Private window keeping information

Am I not understanding correctly about how the private window works? Apparently my whole history is still being stored along with the cookies and even passwords. I have the default settings for private mode and everything persists.

Can you elaborate more, @krejar? What is your Brave version and OS?

Private window “data” will be cleared when you close the window, not the tab.

1 Like

Win10x64

Version 1.1.22 Chromium: 79.0.3945.79 (Official Build) (64-bit)

From what I understand with Private browsing, when I close the window, everything, history, passwords, cookies, etc, should be flushed. However, what I am experiencing isn’t conforming to those “rules.”

I can reboot my pc, open Brave and then open a private browser, type in a search, for example by bank, and have Brave give me a list of previously used URLs. This happens for other sites that I have navigated to previously.

This topic was automatically closed 30 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.