Limit Screen Time on MacOS Catalina, BigSur, etc.?

I signed up here only to discuss this one issue. Either I’m the only one with that problem, or the only one who wants this to work.

I’m a web developer and designer who happens to be addicted to social media and entertainment – bad combination, right? I use Apple Screen Time (set up by someone else) to break my addiction. My clients and my family suffer, and so do I.

Unfortunately Screen Time – especially limiting certain content – doesn’t work in my case:

1. Set screen time thresholds, limit websites in the MacOS system settings.
  2. Go to the website supposed to be limited in Brave.
    – Expected result: Website doesn’t open.
    – Actual result: Website opens like any other.

In case it matters, I’m running
– Brave V1.18.78 on
– MacOS 11.2 on a
– MacBook Air M1 Apple Silicon.

Please HELP!

Thanks a lot, really :pray:

kind regards
Tobi

2 Likes

Same here! Brave seems to ignore screen time limits.

2 Likes

I also acknowledge my screen addiction, and use a Screen Time pin (set by a family member) to help manage my usage. Brave really needs this!

Apple “Screen Time” support IS now available for testing in Chrome on iOS, so hopefully Brave is not too far behind. MacOS support in Chromium/Chrome is also in the pipeline: Support Apple's "Screen Time" in Brave on MacOS and iOS 14+

As an aside, a tool I highly recommend for managing screen addiction is Freedom. I use it daily to block social media and other distractions during work hours, and before bed. It is absolutely invaluable to me and keeps me focussed at work and stops me from staying up late on my phone. Its only disadvantage (not Freedom’s fault) is that it doesn’t work as well as it could on iPhones as there is no Screen Time API in iOS . Apple really need to add this, or at very least create a scheduler for ScreenTime blocks.