Leo Premium suddenly stopped working

Description of the issue: Leo’s Premium models stopped working with “There was a network issue connecting to Leo, check your connection and try again.” after many hours of working fine.
How can this issue be reproduced?

1. Select any of the premium models in Leo.
  2. Say anything or ask for a summary.
  3. Get “There was a network issue connecting to Leo, check your connection and try again.” error.

Expected result: I expect Leo premium models to reply.

Brave Version( check About Brave):
Version 1.60.114 Chromium: 119.0.6045.124 (Official Build) (64-bit)

Additional Information: I got my subscription to premium yesterday. I was able to use premium models for hours and they suddenly stopped working today. I have not changed my IP address if that matters. I also tried the “Refresh Leo” button in my account page to presumably reissue the anonymous token used to authenticate me but it didn’t help. The free model still works though!

EDIT: I collected some more info using brave://net-export/ to view the requests made by the Leo sidebar. It looks like it’s making the request to ai-chat.bsg.brave.com but the openresty there returns 403 and this body: {“error”:{“type”:“40301”,“message”:“model is only supported for premium users”}} But I am a premium user.

Hi @Tritonio, thanks for the detailed bug report. I think I see what could be the problem. If possible, could you share your SKUs state with me? This will help me confirm. You can fetch that by visiting brave://skus-internals in the URL bar, clicking ‘Fetch SKUs State’, then ‘Copy’. You can either DM here, or email it to me at nick@brave.com.

Hi Nick. Emailed! o7

2 Likes