If updates are forced, please notify user and backup data before applying

Hello. I have had a couple of cases of complete data loss during a Brave auto update, posted here and never resolved. I have again recently had trouble with Brave auto update, and now I have multiple entries for different versions in windows installed programs and not sure which to remove and still retain my data. Brave is creating these duplicate entries in the background and not sure what is going on. The update process has been very buggy for me for about a year now.

If Brave software updates are forced to apply in the background and installing multiple duplicate version on my computer, PLEASE add a prompt to notify the user the udpate is occurring and back up all data before the update wipes it all out. It would be very appreciated. Thank you.