How to use screen recorders with Brave

I am a high school history teacher and I use screen recorders to record teaching videos for my class. I recently changed to Brave but I see the recorded screen goes blank. The recorder works with all the other browsers, so I am guessing that the issue is one of the filters or safe settings. Do you have any idea which it could be? I really prefer to use Brave but if it blocks screen recorders then I need to go back.

I am using Win-10 1809 and the latest version of Brave.
Thank you, Declan

Hi @Declan1,

Welcome to community! What’s the name of the screen recorder? It’s possibly a shields issue. Does it work with Shields down?

Hi Steeven. I use both Anymp4 Recorder and Free Screen Recorder. They both do I what I need for class.
And I’m just learning how to use Brave, but I agree it is a Shields issue or something like that. Are you referring to the slide switch on the red lion’s head to the right of the address bar? or in the Settings menu?

Hi Steeven, I now used the slide switch in the red lions head to close all shields, but that didn’t work, Most of the videos I get are from YouTube or other historical sites with short teaching videos. None of them work.

I guess to be more specific, once I click on the video switch to go full screen, the recorder goes blank, on all the videos. Once I return to the normal video size the image returns. Since the recorders record the actual screen on the monitor I can only record in full screen mode since I don’t want all the misc. side text in the video.

Oddly, I can record off Chrome, Firefox & IE-11, but not Brave.
I hope that helps some.

Hi @Declan1,

Thanks for the quick replies! I’m wondering now if it could be a hardware acceleration issue. Can you try disabling and then relaunching your browser? You can do so here - chrome://settings/system.