How to block Brave from saving history

Description of the issue:

I am using Brave Version 0.64.77 Chromium: 74.0.3729.169 (Official Build) (64-bit) with Windows 10.

1.Brave continually saves History, and I don’t want it ever to save history.

  1. Brave saves urls I have visited before (they appear in address bar drop down long after shutting down and launching Brave again weeks later). Shocking danger of privacy loss.

  2. I don’t want to have to go to Incognito Tab every time I launch - I want Brave to actually be a real incognito browser immediately on launch (no history saved, no URLs - nothing, unless I decide to switch these on).

  3. Brave is constantly asking me if I want to “save passwords” and I click on ‘never’ but it comes back again later to ask again - what part of ‘never’ does Brave not understand?

I like the idea of an incognito or anonymous browser, but shocked at how much private and personal data Brave is saving, or trying to save.

Please tell me if I can switch off (permanently) all these attempts to save my private data (URLs, History, Passwords . . what else?)

Many thanks for help

Vin

Operating System and Brave Version(See the About Brave page in the main menu):

Additional Information:

Under settings and privacy set clear data to clear on exit

  1. Go to Settings --> History --> Clear browsing data --> [On Exit], select the data you’d like to ensure is not saved (in your case, everything).
  2. Using the above steps should remove any suggestions as they will no longer appear in your browsing history
  3. I’m confused a bit by this – if you essentially want “incognito only” then use private browsing sessions every time and only save things in standard tabs. You can edit your Brave shortcut so that Brave always launches private sessions when that shortcut is used.
    Findthe . Brave shortcut, Right-click --> Properties --> Target, at the very end, outside the quotes, append --incognito to the end of the string.
  4. It’s not asking you if you “ever want to save any passwords”, when you login, it asks if you want to save that login data for that site specifically. If you don’t want to save any passwords or be offered, go to Settings --> Autofill --> Passwords, toggle off Auto-sign in and Offer to save passwords options:
    image

This topic was automatically closed after 30 days. New replies are no longer allowed.