Enabling Push Notifications

Hi there, I am new to Brave, though fairly brower savvy in general. I am trying to enable desktop push notifications through Brave.

1. To that end, for the sites I am interested receiving them from, I have (at least temporarily) gone ‘shields down’ on those sites so that I can see/access the option to subscribe (often, but not always, a bell avatar widget).

2. I have gone into site settings in Brave and ‘Allow’-ed notifications from those sites.

Push Notifications

1. But something is blocking the final step, successful push subscription/completion, as subscriptions aren’t being confirmed (usually with a first push popping up) and further to the point, when one is successfully subscribed through a push service, the avatar/widget either goes away or changes to a ‘unsubscribe’ option. That isn’t happening, it appears as if I haven’t tried to subscribe at all. In addition, I know both sites have sent out push notices since I tried to subscribe on dektop, as I received them through the Brave app on Android.

There seems to be one last setting in Brave desktop that is preventing the push subscription from completing and I cannot figure out what that setting would be.

If anyone can help me identify/resolve the problem, that would be much appreciated. I’m transitioning over from Comodo Dragon after their most recent update borked the search engine features, which is a deal breaker for me. So far, everything on Brave is setting up just fine but for the push notices. I hope this can be solved! Thank you in advance.

Version 1.22.71 Chromium: 89.0.4389.114 (Official Build) (64-bit)

1 Like

< irrelevant info > Sorry, mixed-up posts. :flushed:

Hello @Calista

what you mean with those

what you mean with subscription

1 Like

he/she not asking about ads @saereV

1 Like

When a site offers push notifications, you will see something like this bell on the site’s landing page.