Data Loss: Too easy to inadvertently close tabs


#1

Using Brave 0.18.36 on MacOS 16.7

A number of times I’ve lost data sitting in a page’s text edit fields (for example, when entering a Github issue) by inadvertently clicking on the close box of the page’s tab.

I think what happens is that I activate other tabs looking for information to include in an issue and when I’m ready to go back to working on the issue I just fling the cursor at the issue tab and click and sometime I hit the close widget area of the tab. Long tab names and normally invisible close widgets may be contributing to the problem.

However, the main problem is that there is no confirmation prompt before the tab is removed. I checked theBrave preferences and couldn’t find any way to turn such a prompt on/off.

I don’t really want a confirmation prompt on every tab close, but it would be nice if there was a prompt for tabs that contain unsaved user input.


#2

This topic was automatically closed 60 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.