Cannot administer embedded systems due to blocked ports

I am a system administrator who administers many embedded systems. Some of these systems intentionally use unusual TCP ports for their administrative interfaces. We’d like to use the Brave browser in our work, but it is blocking access to those ports. Adding the --explicitly-allowed-ports=[list] command line switch to the Windows shortcut that launches the browser used to circumvent this problem, but has stopped working. We are professional system administrators and do not need “training wheels.” Do we have to give up on your browser for professional work?

To reproduce, try to access any device with a Web interface on a port other than 80, 443, or a few other common ones. (Note that there is no public documentation of exactly which ones will be blocked and which ones will be allowed.) You’ll get an error page with the error ERR_UNSAFE_PORT. We have found no way to circumvent this error with command line switches. We are currently trying and failing to find a workaround on your release 1.40.109.

@BrettGlass

If you have a Brave Browser installation that you might sacrifice, by going to:

• brave://settings/reset

and then reset . . .

OR test a new Profile.

You probably have already seen the following:

but that may interest passersby.

Two Brave URL’s to look at:

• brave://management/
  • brave://policy/

Unfortunately, none of this seems to make a difference. The registry setting mentioned in Google’s documentation doesn’t exist on my system, and the brave://policy page lets me see that there are no explicitly allowed network ports but does not allow me to set any. I am wondering if perhaps Google (in keeping with its corporate philosophy of dictating to users what they can and can’t do) disabled this in the code and the maintainers of Brave simply brought it in without realizing that it made their browser useless to administer many embedded systems.

@BrettGlass