Browser help question

I am new to the Brave browser. This is my question, if I go to the website websleuths will websleuth know that? If I go to Twitter, I don’t have an account, but a person can look if they go to twitter.com, so would Twitter be aware of that, that I would be looking at Twitter? If I go to the Washington Post website again will Washington post be aware I am looking at their website?

Yes and no, it all depends on settings in your browser AND what other things you use. They will always know SOMEONE was looking at their site, but won’t necessarily know it’s you. In terms of settings, let’s look at some examples:

1. In one scenario, you have default settings. When you go there, it is allowed to place cookies in your browser to an extent, which helps it identify your preferences. It also identifies some traits of your browser. Also it reads where the IP address is coming from, so it knows your general area. The list goes on. There will be some randomized, but overall it’s going to know your computer and can trace back to at least your general area.

Your location and all will leak regardless of the browser, as your internet provider shares this information.

1. In this scenario, you block Fingerprinting and Cookies, so nothing can be stored on your computer. This also always makes a fake profile it shares with websites you visit. Like maybe in one they think you’re using Microsoft Edge but next time you visit, they think you’re using Safari. So many identifiers go away and they have a much bigger issue identifying who you are compared to other visitors. It’s not flawless but works well.

The issue again is that your IP address and all might be visible, as that is shared by your internet provider and all. So in that case, they will identify you still and be able to target your general location. It is for this reason that people use VPN to hide that as well.