Brave Rewards Wallet recovery

I’m new at this. I signed up for brave a few months ago, and I’ve accumulated some number of BAT, which I never really paid attention to. I tried several times to set up an Uphold wallet, but could not use one because I’m in NY. So, I just let it accumulate until the situation changes.

Fastforward to last week, and my SSD died, and I’m trying to reinstall everything. However, it seems like even though I have the same email, and setting up the same system, that I am now faced with a balance of 0.00. I thought all of this stuff was tied to my email, but I am suspecting it’s more a unique identifier generated by the brawser.

I am assuming that I have lost all of this funny currency.

I would just like someone in the know to confirm that, or tell me how to reconnect with it.

Thanks,
-Polar

Hello Polar

did you tried to recover the wallet
go to brave://rewards/ then

then click on setting the

Screenshot from 2020-07-27 19-49-38

then restore and type your key there

hope that help and have a nice day

1 Like

That’s what I was afraid of. I may have copied it somewhere, but that disk is gone. Can’t read a single bit out of it. I thought I put it in my password manager, but I guess it’s gone. So, it goes.

Actually, I did find it in my password manager, but the key didn’t work. :frowning:

How is that restore key verified? If the wallet is stored locally, and not on-line, then my disk crash will have obliterated it anyway. I had thought these things were stored on-line by email address.

you have to be connected to the internet so the key verified and restored
and you said you do not have uphold so the only way from my humble knowledge that is your key

connect to the internet then choose restore the key and see if you got any progress

have a nice day