Brave rewards verification with custodial partner (Uphold/Gemini)

I am an Australian resident and have all the necessary documents showing that I am a resident of Australia but I am not a citizen. This means that I am a taxpayer in Australia. I checked that Australia is supported for Brave Rewards Verification. However, when opening an account on either Uphold or Gemini and selecting Australia as my country of residence, I am unable to link it to Brave. I have contacted Uphold to ask why this is not working and they are unable to resolve it for me saying that Brave has to assist me on this.

**What Operating System and Brave version are you using - V1.45.118 on MacOS

Is your browser wallet currently verified? (no)

Have you been able to successfully receive payments in the past? (Yes)

Are you using a VPN? (no)

**Are you in a supported region (yes)

Have you fully completed Uphold’s CDD requirements? (yes)

Just want to make sure we’re on the same page. Photo ID you submitted, such as your passport, was that also from Australia or was it for another country?

Asking because we’ve had a lot of people speak as you are on this but we find out they only submitted their residential information but submitted ID from another country. That mismatch, especially if country their ID/passport was from is from a country that is not supported.

Hi, the photo ID I submitted is from another country. I have however proof that I am a resident in Australia.

That doesn’t matter. It goes by KYC/AML, which in part is the ID you submit. If that doesn’t match the country you’re reporting, then the API won’t accept it and you won’t be able to verify.

Uphold will be content with the information, but Brave isn’t.

I see what you mean but isn’t that counterintuitive in a world where people move around countries for work? Is there any workaround for this?