Brave hijacked me

linux

I’m new to Brave after learning about it by accident. I understand the software is presented as ‘experimental’ and thank all that support it. We (the internet community) need this software very badly!

I downloaded it last evening, and intended to try it out today. Unfortunately, there is a problem::>

I elected NOT to import my settings from my firefox browser until I had tried it and evaluated whether I would like to continue using it. So, an hour ago, I set out to play with the new install. Much to my surprise, I found that Brave had already imported my firefox profile!!! R-E-A-L-L-Y?? WHY??!!

But, it gets even better…

It appears that Brave made changes to my existing firefox installation!!! When I opened firefox, and clicked on “preferences”, my firefox install was already modified!!! It showed the Brave preferences format, my default firefox browser now has its original firefox preferences instead of the preferences it should have shown?

How do I get restore my old preferences back?? And, why did Brave make changes to my default browser without asking?? Not only did it make the changes without my approval, it didn’t even notify me that the changes had been made.

Now, I have a new problem. How do I restore my default firefox browser preferences back to the original (pre-Brave installation) settings??

Also, I can’t create my own tags, the forum software demands that I select 1 of 4 options that it presents and none of them were even close to the tags that I needed to declare.

OK, here’s an update.

Please see the screen capture so you can see what I am seeing when I try to use my default firefox profile.

My firefox seems fully functional, but I haven’t done a full evaluation.

So, when I open firefox and open the preferences, the screen I used to get is nowhere to be found, and instead firefox displays the same preference page as Brave does! I never asked for Brave to modify my firefox browser though.