After several months usage, my reactions

I’ve been using Brave for about 7-8 months now. I am using Brave on Linux Mint 19.2 on a Dell Latitude E5430 laptop.

I would describe myself as a “power user”.

Here are the things that I like about Brave Browser:

1 Speed. I’m coming to Brave from Firefox, which I have been using since it was called Phoenix. It used to be slim and fast, but as time went on, it became more and more bloated and lethargic. It is the complete opposite for Brave. Brave is snappy and responsive. When you click to open it, it opens immediately.

2 Extensibility. Very convenient to use Chrome extensions, as there are analogues for pretty much every extension that I used on Firefox, if the actual ones aren’t available.

3 Looks. The browser just looks modern and mostly well thought out. It has a great feel to it. The daily artwork is a nice touch. I like having the clock come up on the homepage. Very nice.

4 Shields. The great thing about Shields is, it doesn’t trip the “adblocker installed” warning on very many websites. Yet, it still blocks ads on those sites. Genius.

All of these features and qualities are AWESOME, but if I could improve anything about Brave, these are the things that I would work on.

1 No way to open bookmarks with a single click. Yes, I realize that you can probably do it with a key combination. When I’m “mousing”, I don’t want to take my hands off the mouse. When I’m keyboarding, I don’t want to take my hands off the keyboard. Transitioning from one input method to another is kludgy and inconvenient. IMHO, keyboard shortcuts for simple things actually interfere with the flow of tasks that I am working on.

Here’s the really head-scratching part…I can BOOKMARK a site with a single click. but then I have to click TWICE to get to what I just bookmarked.