Add sidebar hover delay option

New to Brave and liking it so far. I’ve set the sidebar to show on-hover because I generally like every square millimeter of screen real estate possible, so I want it hidden except when I need to use it.

The only problem with it right now is that if you just graze it it’ll pop open, which I do constantly by accident when using other sidebars in browser apps. I’d like to be able to add a custom delay in ms. that it opens after hovering the cursor over it, so it doesn’t insta-popup.

Is this doable?

TIA

1 Like

This topic was automatically closed 60 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.

Re: link

The post is closed for replies so I had to create a new post.

I’m a software dev since ~1996 and know that adding a timed delay to something is pretty trivial; wondering why a user choose-able delay can’t be added to the sidebar so it doesn’t immediately pop up on mouse-over? There’s one added to it’s closing already.

Probably on average of at least 30-40x a day I accidentally mouse over the left sidebar and it immediately pops out, shifting the entire contents of the page, then I have to wait for that short delay for it to close.

Adding delay options in settings for the open and close delay (set to it’s current defaults on install) that users can adjust to their liking is the best solution. Might even be an added bonus if the sidebar flys out “over” the page content so as not to shift the entire page itself.

@J_Scott_Elblein Sad part is, even when this was closed, seems neither you or OP ever even thought to vote for it. It’s still sitting at 0 votes as I’m writing this, lol. While there’s no magic number of votes to make something happen, it does help in seeing how many people would like to see it happen. More who want something, the more likely they are to work on it.

Do you find that sad? Aww.

I was the OP. For those keen-eyed, the name is about 2 millimeters from the Vote button you just pointed out.